Rest in peace, little friend…

img_1701“The thing about owning a pet is they don’t live as long as we do.”

Last week I wrote about the problems Laika was having and what the doctor had said. The follow-up, naturally, was a different doctor at the same clinic said something completely different. It’s like no one talked to each other, no one took notes, no one seemed to know what was going on.

As for Laika, he seemed to be doing okay. After that last post I got a lot of well-meaning texts and emails telling me it was hard but I would know when it was the right time to let him go, when his suffering outweighed my selfishness. But he seemed to be doing okay.

I knew it was the start of a downhill slide but it didn’t seem any worse than it had been for the last several months. Outside he was still running and, with the allergy medicine, he seemed to be calm.

Then I left for Lisbon, for three weeks, for work. Rasa was at home with Laika and Monki and while we knew it would be hard, he was getting better. Except when I left, he got worse. He would sleep all day and be up and coughing all night. He was incontinent and aggravated. We figured it was because he was mad at me for leaving. I had rescued him, after all, and even when we had our differences, he was still my dog. he was always by my side. When I went to bed, he went to bed (he had two beds, spoiled git, one right next to my side of the bed).

Then today, things changed. Rasa had let him out to do his business and when he came back in, he brought something he’d picked up with him. She wasn’t sure what it was, maybe a dead bird or something. But the upshot was that he started vomiting everywhere, hacking up blood. We thought it might have been a bone or something lodged in his throat so she left Monki with her mom and had a friend drive her to the vet, who said there was nothing lodged but to get him to the hospital right away.

There, after running tests, they determined his heart and lungs were giving out (that’s where the blood was coming from). And the probable reason for his freak out a week or so back was because he couldn’t see out of his left eye. It was time. Rasa said good-bye in my stead (I said good-bye when I left on Sunday night, not guessing it would be the last time, but at least I got to say it and give him scratches).

I’m sure he knew I loved him. He was the strangest dog I ever met. The only dog I knew who didn’t want to go for walks. He was a drama queen, doing whatever he could to get more treats out of me (and I fell for it every time, which is why he’d gotten so fat). He loved swimming and chasing balls and playing in the snow. He barked at people as they were leaving but never when they came in. He had all sorts of adventures, riding trains and motorcycles, visiting castles and going for long airplane rides.

Good-bye my friend. I will miss you more than you will know. I hope wherever you are, you have a beam of sunlight to call your own.

Sunlight

Sunlight

Categories: Personal | Tags: | 24 Comments

Post navigation

24 thoughts on “Rest in peace, little friend…

  1. Marty

    I cry with you Jaq. May he rest in peace.

  2. AAron

    Aw, crap. I hadn’t checked this in a while and didn’t know. Sorry, man. You and he had a lot of adventures together.

  3. Edd Carlile

    So sorry man.

  4. So sorry. I cried when I read your post. When we spoke to Rasa she said that he was better. 😥😥

    Sent from my iPhone Ricki Greenspon By Invitation Only

    >

    • I cried when I wrote it.

      We thought he was better. The medicine we were giving him was masking his symptoms but he was getting worse.

    • Heidi Teadt

      I am so sorry. My eyes watered when I read this out loud so Troy could also know what happened. You and he went well together with all your journeys. You gave him a very good life. Smile for all the fun times you had with him. Those memories will stay with you forever!

  5. Howard Greenspon

    So sorry to hear the news comma Mom said it all

  6. Connie

    Oh Jaq, I am so sorry for your loss. I was hoping that things would turn out differently. I wish I could hug you and Rasa right now.

  7. Deanne

    I’m so very sorry for your loss Jaq. It’s so hard to say goodbye to our best friends and I’m also sorry that Rasa had to take on the burden of that difficult decision while you were away. Big Hugs to you both.

  8. I’m so sorry about this. He lived many more years than loads of dogs get though, and as you say, he sure had adventures and a wonderful life. Is Rasa OK? I mean, she said good-bye for you to Laika and that couldn’t have been easy. Take care, all of you.

    • She’s a wreck, but soldiering through. And yeah, he would have been 16 next week (and 7 of those 16 were with me) so he had good, long life, filled with love and adventures. Gonna miss that little guy but I know this is what’s best so I can be at peace no matter how sad I am.

      On Sun, Dec 4, 2016 at 11:20 PM, Getting the Hang of Thursdays wrote:

      >

  9. tamara

    So sorry for your loss Jaq.
    I have always wondered what it is like for parrots.
    (too dark?) sorry.
    (((hug)))

  10. Dr. Hettinger Sándor

    We’ve just heard what happened. We are sorry for your loss, but life must go on and will whether we like it or not. But the silver lining is time itself that heals the wounds, soothes memories and erases the sharp edges of pain, because those we love will never really leave us, you know.

    Sanyi and Erika

    • I do know. And certainly it is better to lose him to a better place where he’s not in pain than to prolong any suffering to ease my own pain and loss. Yes, I’m sad, but we had a great run together and I’ll always have those memories.

  11. Pingback: Just clowning around…Lisbon | Getting the Hang of Thursdays

  12. Pingback: 2016 In the Rear View Mirror | Getting the Hang of Thursdays

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

DLP Today

What's New, What's Next at Disneyland Paris

ALARA KARIS BLOG

First of My Kind

Daily Doodle

by PMu Ink

Curb Your Hysteria

Everyday musings, occasional hysteria

Recipe in a Bottle

Connecting to Friends, Old and New, Through Recipes, Gardens, and Dinner Parties

bluchickenninja

graphic designer // bibliophile // geek

Wizard of Pots

Exploring cooking for family and baby

Copper Leviathan

Writer, reader,student, oddball overall. Take a look at my blog, hope you like it!

