Sitting in an Englischer Garten, waiting for the sun…

Today was a boring day in Bayern (that’s German for Bavaria). It’s my last day here so I decided to mostly just walk around and take it easy. I walked down the main drag, had breakfast at the Haufbrauhaus (white sausage and again got the evil eye when I asked for something OTHER than beer to drink – but at 10am I was NOT succumbing to peer pressure!) and wandered over to the Englischer Garten, a central park like place complete with raging rivers, surfers (yes, surfers in the river!) and a Chinese pagoda. It was the perfect day for a walk in the park, slightly overcast but not too cold.

Mostly, though, I was doing a lot of thinking. There’s a lot going on in my life right now and I was just kinda spending some time with myself trying to figure some of it out. Not that I got all that far or that I’m going to post it here when I do, but it was good. A few of the things I did discover is that I know how you can tell I’m not a German – I smile a lot. I smile at people as they drive by on their bikes and I look them in the eye. Have yet to meet a German who’ll do that. Most of them just scowl.

Also, at some point, I think someone should write a book, website, pamphlet, manifesto, whatever it takes, on proper Hostel etiquette. Now, I’m not talking about the groups of young kids here on school trips, no, they are the responsibility of parents or other adults who should really keep them under a bit of a tighter rein. Instead, I’m talking about those travelers who are by themselves or with one or two other people and who, when sharing a room with 3-5 strangers, have absolutely NO comprehension of manners. Stepping into a bathroom where the floor is literally covered in a large puddle of water with black footprints everywhere is really rather gross. Opening your suitcase/backpack and leaving it open on the floor in the middle of the room when you go out for the day is obnoxious and leaving the door open when you leave is just downright wrong.

Okay, enough rant. On to the fun of the day. I went and saw the tomb/crypt of Ludwig the second (you King Ludwig\'s tombremember him from our recent post about Mad King Ludwig) and I climbed the tower at St. Peter’s – a feat for which you should be knighted if not sainted! Lots of stairs, some rickety, all torickety stairs narrow for people to pass in the other direction. But the view from the top is spectacular!

I took some random photos around town as well, just of some things I thought were cool. Enjoy!

Here’s a dragon on the side of the New Town Hall (which, ironically, looks older than the Old Town Hall) and is home to the famous glockenspiel.

I don’t know why, but I was just struck by this girl sitting in front of the holy water basin, contemplating. It fit my mood for the day so I took a picture.

I’ve walked by this statue probably a dozen times since I’ve been here and I never noticed it before today. I think it’s really funny. I can’t wait to see what the art historians say about it 1000 years from now.

Tomorrow should be more interesting, although the post might be a day or two since I’m going to be traveling for the next two days. I’ll check in when I can.

Categories: Cities, Europe, History | Tags: , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Sitting in an Englischer Garten, waiting for the sun…

  1. AAron

    Cool dragon!

  2. Mom

    Don’t understand the last picture at all! Agree with AAron, cool Dragon.
    Stay Safe. Hugs.

  3. AAron

    So, at this point in the trip can you report on your gear? The useless, the priceless, and the so-so?

  4. m.k.

    nice title!!! 🙂 did you take any pictures of the surfers?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

DLP Today

What's New, What's Next at Disneyland Paris

ALARA KARIS BLOG

Painting The World In Words

Daily Doodle

by PMu Ink

Curb Your Hysteria

Everyday musings, occasional hysteria

Recipe in a Bottle

Connecting to Friends, Old and New, Through Recipes, Gardens, and Dinner Parties

BluChickenNinja

I have no idea what I'm doing

Wizard of Pots

Exploring cooking for family and baby

Copper Leviathan

Writer, reader,student, oddball overall. Take a look at my blog, hope you like it!

